Announcing the 2020 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients

March 31, 2020

 Chancellor's Office


Dear Campus Community:

The Academic Senate’s Committee on Teaching is delighted to announce the recipients of the 61st Annual Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) who are recognized for their inspiring and transformational teaching:

  • Nadia Ellis, English
  • Marla Feller, Molecular & Cell Biology
  • Alexander Paulin, Math
  • Brody Reiman, Art Practice

The extraordinary expertise, curiosity, and passion of this year’s recipients remind us that excellent teaching runs both deep and broad across Berkeley’s academic landscape. All students, faculty, and staff are invited to celebrate these remarkable teachers at a ceremony on August 26. More details to follow in the coming months.


Carol Christ
Oliver O'Reilly
Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate


This message has been sent to all UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff.



If you are a manager who supervises UC Berkeley employees without email access, please circulate this information to all.


CalMessages footer

via Calmessages