Governing Council Meeting

Thursday, November 14, 2013

MINUTES

GC Members Present: Toni Whittle-Ciprazo, Yvonne Edwards, Barinder Flanagan, Elizabeth Geno, Lynn Greene, Devin Jones, Sean McMahon, Lata Naidu, Rochelle Niccolls, Cheryl Olson, Donna Seaward, Andrea Sohn, Diane Sprouse, Deborah Tatto, Michelle Ziegmann

GC Members Excused: Cindy Andallo, Camille Fernandez, Greg Ryan, Kathleen Valerio

Guests: Kate Benn, Business Services-Risk Management, Carol Rachwald, Law-Registrar

I. Chair's announcements and vote to approve minutes

- Rochelle met with the Police Review Board and a member of UCPD. UCPD
 has offered to provide PRB members with training about their policies and
 procedures.
- Minutes of October 24, 2013 approved with no objections or abstentions.

II. Executive Committee recap of Sponsor/Budget meeting

- Jeannine would like to hold off on the equipment request for Web Communications & Publicity for 2-3 weeks. Jeannine will confer with Liz Elliot and Larry Conrad. Part of the discussion included purchasing equipment for BSA vs. having one shared meeting location with the necessary technology.
- Jeannine would also like to hold off on the \$500 requested for the Charter bus to 4th street. Jeannine will chat (strategize) with Liz Elliot and Larry Conrad. Other off-site locations will be discussed.

III. Excellence in Management Update

- This year's theme is Connectivity: Reaching Across the Gap.
 There are three sub-themes:
 - -Maintaining Cohesion on a Changing Campus (up for further discussion)
 - -Balancing Transition & Tradition
 - -Celebrating Contributions of our Diverse Staff

GC members voted to approve the current theme. However, a few words will be changed within the sub-themes.

IV. Events Committee Update

• The Annual BSA holiday party is scheduled for December 12, 2013 from 12pm-1:30pm and will be held at Cross Roads restaurant.

V. WC&P Action Plans

 This was an engaging conversation amongst committee members. Several ideas were discussed, mainly the possibility of changing the Berkeley Staff Assembly Logo. Devin Jones and Michelle Ziegmann are working on this and more will be discussed.

Respectfully submitted,